Road transport products
working since 1978

Updated to:





Need the right answers?
Need them NOW?
Look no further. Visit

A brand new ON-LINE service brought to you by Foresight Publications.


Driving test (K53)

K53 was a project reference number initially given by the CSIR, in the 1980's, to the development of a standard means of measuring driver proficiency which was based on the UK system.

Originally published by what was then the National Road Safety Council, it comprised of three volumes, one for light motor vehicles, one for heavy vehicles and one for motor cycles. The system for testing heavy vehicle drivers was officially implemented on 1 January 1992.

The K53 was later gazetted by the DoT (Gov Gaz 19571 of 8 December 1998) as part of the Road Traffic Act Regulations.

An amended version, compiled in August 2005 was published and promulgated with immediate effect in Gov Gaz 28446 of 7 April 2006. A fourth volume was added to provide for the testing of light motor vehicle combinations. Another important addition was the introduction of a minimum vehicle length of 3 metres for a light motor vehicle test (category B) and 6 metres for a heavy vehicle test (categories C1, C). The level of proficiency required to pass the heavy vehicle yard test was significantly increased by reducing the number of allowable penalty points from 50 down to 20.


Download the appropriate K53 practical driving test for the following vehicles:
Light motor vehicles (Code B):
Vol 1 (519 KB)
Heavy motor vehicles (Codes C1, C, EC1, EC):
Vol 2 (420 KB)
Motor cycles (Codes A1 and A):
Vol 3 (500 KB)
Light motor vehicle combinations (EB):
Vol 4 (507 KB)